top of page

Sound Dramas

I dressed up my set and I'm really happy with how it looks.

To go with my new look set I wanted a better sound recording. That required me not yelling at the camera. I did a bit of research and found out I didn't need to spend any money. I could use my iPhone and a microphone to create a more professional sound that did not require me to shout.

I figured perhaps my hands free microphone would work just fine and in a practice recording with the phone next to me, it worked a treat.

Come the day of recording my next video "Home Made Surface Spray", I was so excited to put together a video that had a more professional look and sound to it (as professional as you can get on a budget of $0).

I put it all together and edited it and guess what, it sound like crap.

I bought a proper microphone thinking that would improve things, but the iPhone refused to acknowledge it was even plugged in. After some playing around I found out, it was not the hands free microphone that had been the issue, it was the app I was using. The recording I had done had not been picked up by the hands free kit microphone. The entire recording had been done by an iPhone that was in my jeans pocket (face palm).

I have now found an app that does recognize the hands free kit as a microphone. Sadly it does not acknowledge my new microphone, which means the sound quality will still not be great, but it will be better; I hope. I record my vlog video tomorrow, so we'll soon find out how well it works.

Still, here is the "Home Made Surface Spray" video. Turn up the volume, put your to the speaker, and enjoy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page